Grade 7/8 Phys Ed.

This past Tuesday I had the opportunity to teach a physical education class to the Grade 7/8 split I have my ECS 300 field placement with. My field placement partner and I decided to split the class into two where I took half for 20 minutes and then we had them switch and so I then had the other half for another 20 minutes.  We decided to do a volleyball class because this was something that a couple of the students had mentioned they were interested in this subject.  Co-designing a lesson plan provided me to use some of the things I have been learning in ECMP 355, particularly the use of Google Docs to collaborate.  Working together we came up with this lesson plan:

Teaching volleyball falls right into my comfort zone as I’ve had numerous experiences both playing and instructing in my time with the Huskies.  In hindsight this experience was a little different compared to past experiences.  In the past I’ve ran teams or camps where students attending wanted to be there and get better at volleyball.  In this environment I had a mix of students who wanted to play, others who wanted to watch, and others who had a hard time staying focused.  I found myself adapting the drills as best as I could on the fly in order to keep everyone as engaged as possible, definitely more intensive than my past experiences.

All in all it was a positive experience and I look forward to more experiences in the future where I can apply what I am learning about myself and education.

One thought on “Grade 7/8 Phys Ed.

  1. I’m in EPE 100 this semester and have been learning about lesson plans, so it was interesting to see an example of it within the classroom. Also, great use of Google Docs.

Leave a Reply

