How Twitter Has Changed How I Learn

I was looking through my Google Reader today and ran across another tweet from an athlete that has made the news. James Harrison apparently got himself into more trouble over a suspension when he “LOL’d” it over twitter. This seems to be a common theme in the news and its hard to go a week without hearing about something along these lines happening.

I’m not going to lie, before this semester, this was one of the main reasons why I used twitter.  I thought twitter was something I could use to have a laugh every once in awhile and following guys like Conan, I’ve been able to.

From there my use of twitter evolved to serve as a method for acquiring news.  I have found that if something happens it is on twitter, and if it is important it is usually a trending tweet.  In this way twitter allowed me to have a laugh and also know what is going on.

Over the course of this semester I have found that I was not wrong in how I’ve used twitter before, a lot of people use twitter for just those reasons.  What I have come to understand, however, is how twitter is probably one of the largest networks available to me.  I was one of those people who said, “Oh, Twitter, that’s silly, I don’t care what you had for lunch.”, but now I understand how much I can learn on twitter.

Twitter has allowed me to connect to people on #edchat who have been teaching for decades.  I can learn through them and what they share on twitter and their blogs.  Twitter has also been a resource with other things I’ve wanted to learn or explore.  This is what twitter has become for me.  I still use it to have a laugh and keep up to date on current events but now I also use twitter to learn.  Who would of thought?

Leave a Reply

