Concept Maps: Models, Strategies, and Methods for Effective Teaching – H.R. Lang & D. N. Evans

In all my courses this semester I have been learning about different assessment techniques.  One method I found could be very useful to myself, especially as a Biology major, and that is the use of concept maps.  Concept maps are a great way to get students organizing terms in a way that makes sense to them.  By doing an exercise like this the teacher is able to see how student understanding is progressing and what topics are unclear.

This is a concept map that I made to show what I took away from last weeks reading.  It was a very theory heavy reading however made a lot of important distinctions between the different needs my students will have and how I need to recognize these differences in order to accommodate them.

Leave a Reply

