Against common sense: Teaching and learning towards social justice – Kumishiro K.K. – Chapters 1, 2 & 3

This textbook reemphasized a lot of the important aspects of ECS 300 for me.  The first couple chapters discuss teachers and students and the perspectives that they bring into the classroom.  Teaching to every student’s needs can be a lot of extra work.  However, avoiding these differences between students and teaching to the class as a whole can be oppressive to certain students.  It is important for myself that I do not teach with blinders on, forging ahead “doing the best I can”; I need to be aware of what my students need and how what I say and do is being perceived.

The third chapter of this text begins to discuss how to teach through uncertainty.  To me this is synonymous with cognitive dissonance.  My class has been examining this process in ECSI 351 and I see a lot of validity in this method, especially in the sciences.  Students very often can hold two conflicting views, one that works in the science class and another that they use outside the class.  By teaching through uncertainty students can make these connections and begin to resolve these conflicting views.  I think that it is important to remember that some of the deeper levels of learning happen when we are uncomfortable and must resolve this.  My goal is to promote this method of learning and make sure my students are comfortable being uncomfortable.

Leave a Reply

